Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ivysmom_gw

Tulips are up but not daffodils

ivysmom
13 years ago

This is my first year planting either of these two bulbs. They went in the same raised bed, at the same time - tulips down 8", daffodils down 6" - and have received the same watering regiment. I kept the tulip bulbs in my refrigerator from October through January (when they were planted). The daffodils were not kept in the fridge, and when I went to plant everything, I noticed the daffodils were starting to put out roots from the bulbs, so figured they were good and ready.

They all went in the ground mid-January. The tulips are now all up and one even opened a bloom this morning. The daffodils aren't even poking through the soil's surface yet. I was under the impression that I'd see daffodils first. Is this wrong, or am I just being impatient?

Comments (7)

• Donna
    13 years ago

Well, first you planted the daffodils very late. They are typically planted in the fall, (November) so that may account for their slowness. If that's the trouble, they should eventually come up, though they may use so much energy breaking through ground that they don't bloom. If this happens, I would let the greenery die down in the late spring and then dig them up and replant at about four inches deep. (See below.)

Second, you planted the daffodils awfully deep. They usually do better planted at half the depth in the south as folks plant them up north.(Wouldn't it be nice if the packages told us these little tidbits of important info?)
    Third, it may have something to do with the varieties you planted. If you planted some of the generic varieties that are typically sold in the Big Box stores, it's entirely possible that they did need chilling. Even if they come up and bloom, these types often decline and disappear over the course of a very few seasons.