Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Caladium Bulbs

Posted by karoni 6b/7a (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 15, 11 at 14:43

Hi all. I am a novice gardener. Last summer, I bought some caladiums at a nursery and planted them in my front yard. They did splendidly. I want to plant them again this year but would like to plant them as bulbs to save money. Can someone tell me when I should plant the bulbs? I saw a lot of posts on caladiums but didn't see this information. I appreciate any replies!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Caladium Bulbs

Hi Karoni,

I've posted a link to a zone map for planting times. I remember seeing another Caladium zone planting map and they are both showing the same planting date for me.

They can be started beforehand, different ways, to get a bit of a jump before planting time arrives.

Sue

Here is a link that might be useful: Zone Map.

o

Thanks, chemocurl. I was surprised to see the map says June 1st. I've been told the last frost around here is early May. I hate to wait until June to plant them. Would you mind sharing how I can start them early?

o

I was surprised to see the map says June 1st. I've been told the last frost around here is early May.
I know that might seem a bit late, but even though June 1st is well after your last frost date, the soil needs to warm. Caladiums do not like cool wet soil.

Here is an interesting readStarting Caladiums Indoors. Members claim that those planting directly in the soil soon caught up with those that had been stated early.

Here is another good read...How to Grow Caladium Plants

My one growing experience with Caladiums was a bad one. I planted them too early, and then did not keep them watered properly later in the season, after the soil had dried out from the spring rains.

Sue

o

Thanks, Sue. I'll read those articles. I appreciate your help.

o

You're welcome...glad to help.

Maybe you can come back later this year and post some pics of your colorful caladiums. We'd like that.

o

Hi all