Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kao2

What did I do wrong

kao2
13 years ago

Newbie here. I've been working like crazy for 2 years on my gardens (8 flower beds [4 (25X4), 2(25x2.5),1(25x8,1(15x18=rose which did great last year) and don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Did the mulching, soil, fertilizing, appropriate watering, researched the sun/shade ratio for each area and matched with the best perennial, but results are sporatic. I have alliums that never grow in one flower bed, however just 5 feet away the alliums bloomed beautifully (same side of house). My hardy glads,holly hocks, delphanians, phlox, liatris, coneflower,shasta and painted daizies did nothing? These were all bare roots and have since been replanted. Am I just being impatiant?

Comments (6)

• goren
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The way you describe your gardens I'd say there was something done or something happened in the one areas, that didn't happen in the other areas.

Now what usually happens in one garden that doesn't happen in another garden.
    Pests....maybe, too much water...maybe...

or how about drainage....poor in one, good in the other.
    Drainage can indeed have an effect where some plants might not like so much water around their roots.

That's one thought!

Too much fertilizing. Plants can only use as much as they need for development....a little bit extra might be just the nudge that prevents their good health.

Sun and shade aside, too much mulching at the wrong time can cause too much water be retained. Spring soiol should be allowed to dry out some--mulch should be pulled back if it is places where the sun doesn't shine until later in the spring. Ice crystals form deep down and might not thaw out until days/weeks later than other areas and therefore, the area doesn't dry out as quickly.
    This can be true if the garden is shaded by heavy canopy of trees.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    13 years ago