Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
saving tulip bulbs

Posted by wryorwhite (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 14, 10 at 15:28

I received potted red with blue tulips and would like to save them.

Here's what I've done so far. I let them bloom and watered the tulips once per week since I received it 3 weeks ago. I live in apartment and have no place to plant them other than the pots in which they were initially planted or another pot purchased for such purpose.

What should I do? Put the pots in a closet? Remove the bulbs and put them in my crisper (far from apples which I know neuter them)? Leave the pots out and water it periodically. Sorry to be dim but I've never tried to save them before.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: saving tulip bulbs

I'm not sure I'd bother to go the trouble ;-)

Tulips tend not to return well under the best of conditions and as yours were forced to bloom early, they are already starting off at a disadvantage. And since you can only plant in containers and don't really have a satisfactory place to store, I'd just toss them. Or give to a friend who has a dirt garden (no guarantee they will reappear even there). Treat yourself to a new potted display next year.

o

New tulip bulbs that will bloom are sold everywhere from 25 to 30 cents each. I saved tulip bulbs from the garden and chilled them for next year for several years. Only about 30% bloomed again and they were weaker and shorter. All the washing,drying,separating and storing were just not worth the time spent. Now I just close my eyes and throw them into the shredder and into the compost. Al

o

Hi wryorwhite,

Welcome to the Bulb Forum. Knowing where you are located would help in knowing if it is even advisable to give them to someone who can plant them out in the ground and see if they will possibly bloom some in later years.