Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laynic

Hyacynths - to repot or not to repot...

laynic
15 years ago

My son got me a hyacynth that is already blooming. There are three plants in a fairly small container. The blooms are already leaning (popsickle sticks are doing wonders), but everything looks healthy. Should I repot the blooming plants in a larger pot now? I have never worked with bulbs before, and do container/balcony gardening, so can't just go plant it outside. Any help would be great.

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

There's a lot of different areas included in a zone 8 and whether or not you'll need to prechill these bulbs before replanting next fall will depend on exactly where you are located. I have a pot of hyacinths pretty much exactly as you describe that have been sitting (in the exact same pot) since last spring, first in my carport and now on my back porch and they are beginning to sprout both foliage and the start of a flower bud. I meant to plant them out in the garden, but an injury this summer prevented me from doing as much gardening activity as I would have liked. Otherwise, Donna's advice is dead-on.

ps. Donna, some zone 8's are pretty far north :-)) I'm further north than Maine!!

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    15 years ago

I can't speak to any zone 8 except my own, which is on the Georgia/Florida/Alabama line. I force hyacinths every year. Once chilled, forced and bloomed, I plant them in the ground when the blossoms fade.

Subsequent years, they continue to bloom planted in the ground, without chill except as provided by nature. The first year in the ground, blooms will be smaller, but in rich soil, they recover well.

{{gwi:5910}}
    Blooming now, in stones and water. Will be planted in the ground.

Nell

• Donna
    15 years ago

Whoops! I did it again, Gardengal! You are so right, and you're getting a winter alot more like Maine's than mine this year too!