Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sister_k

First Bulb Bloom & First Bulb Problem, Any Ideas?

sister_k
15 years ago

(Okay, 1st time posting pictures, please bear with...)

So, since I live in a condo, I do not have any yard to plant things in--only a large east-facing balcony and some good space outside the front door for containers. This is my first year planting ANYTHING at all, and I got a little obsessed with planting bulbs in containers. Well, one of my bowl container I planted with crocus and hyacinth was coming up more than I thought healthy for outdoors in early February, so I took the pot into work where I get bright light and figured it would be nice to have some early spring flowers. My plant label shows these are 6 Hyacinth pink pearl and 15 crocuses. I figured the bowl was going to be a little shallow but I was running out of containers so I figured it was worth a shot at the time of planting in November.

Well, everything seemed to be coming along fine (photo taken Feb 4th):

{{gwi:6547}}

Then, a week or so later, the hyacinth in the middle was appearing noticeably taller and the five around the outside developed brownish/yellow tips and did not appear to be growing any taller.

The crocuses have since bloomed and flowers have faded. (Photos taken Feb 12th.) The center hyacinth continued to grow and bloomed, providing a lovely fragrance in my office!

{{gwi:6549}}

{{gwi:6552}}

{{gwi:6556}}

{{gwi:6559}}