Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Helping Sick Bulb

Posted by flowersinherhair Netherlands (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 16, 11 at 4:52

My boyfriend brought an unidentified bulb home from Jordan two years ago, and has been trying to nurse along the sad, elongated leaves that came out. I moved in a few months ago, and only now asked him about this little plant. He said I could toss it, but I would like to try and save it for him since it has meaning.
Considering it has been leafed out for nearly two years, I am thinking it needs a rest. It has no blooms, just two elongated leaves.
What should I do with it? Trim the leaves and give it time to recover? How long should it rest and how should I store it? Give up hope? I have no experience growing bulbs, so any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!
I attached a link to a photo of the mystery plant.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sickly Bulb from Jordan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Helping Sick Bulb

It probably does need a rest, but without a good idea of it's ID it's hard to say if it wants a winter or summer rest.

I would put it outdoors for the summer and keep it watered and see what it does. If it dies back then let it dry out and try restarting in late winter..... but like I said, a good ID would be the safest bet.

How about a closeup of the bulb? maybe push back the soil a little to see how it looks? I wonder if it's some kind of eucomis....

o

Hi Kato!
I asked and he is pretty sure it IS a eucomis. Good job!

So if it is a eucomis, I should probably let it go through the summer right?
If the leaves die back, should I remove it from the soil and let it dry out completely?
Does it need fertilizer?
Thanks for helping a totally brown thumb.

o