Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
transientgardener

will my bulbs be late or no-show since I planted late?

transientgardener
15 years ago

I didn't move up here to the north (from Florida) until right before Christmas. I was happy to find nice, healthy looking bulbs right after Christmas at a garden center and I planted them right after buying. Since everyone else's crocuses and daffodils have stirred and even tulip leaves are up, I am wondering about mine. Will they bloom just later or am I not going to see them this year? I planted them in window boxes except for the daffodils. I have only found one daffodil (out of the fifteen) that is starting to poke out. I checked the box of the crocuses to see if they were still there or if critters had gotten them and they seem to be there and have roots growing out of them, but as of yet, no top growth.

Comments (3)

• MissMyGardens
    15 years ago

I'm still a novice myself but my bulb foliage isn't poking through the ground at an even rate. Daffs, Tulips, Hyacinth, Iris Reticulata, Crocus, Pushkinia, Squill...some of each are up and some of each not...right in the same beds or containers. I'm not privy to the inner workings of each bulb and they seem to have their own individual internal clocks.

No doubt much more experienced bulb people can say with more certainty or "informed maybe" what's going on.

The linked Bulb Guide says you might need to prechill some bulbs in Zone 7 but don't know if it's necessity since I don't garden there.

If you scroll down on the linked page you'll see the optimal planting times for Spring blooming bulbs.

Don't know what kind of Tulips you have but different varieties bloom at different times...early, mid and late Spring.