Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tisiree_gw

What happened to my tulips?

tisiree
15 years ago

Hello! I am new here, and have been gardening for just a few years. Can someone please give me an idea what may have happened to my tulips?

I bought a bag of Tulip bulbs from Costco last fall, and planted them all in containers. I put two of the containers in the fridge to try to force them, and the rest outside. The problem is that EVERY SINGLE ONE is blind. The containers I pulled out of the fridge mid-winter to force came up with beautiful leaves, but then just died without ever producing a flower. I thought maybe it had something to do with the forcing, because I have never done that before, but now the same thing is happening to all of the containers outside.

I do this with Tulips every year, and have never had this problem before. Could it have just been a 'bad batch'? I read that slugs or snails could cause blind tulips, but as there are no slugs in my fridge/house for the ones I forced, I'm not thinking that was the problem. Should I just avoid the bulbs at Costco from now on?

I appreciate any thoughts you might have!

Comments (12)

• iris_gal
    15 years ago

I had that experience once with great looking 'Apricot Beauty' tulip bulbs from Orchard Hardware. I had always had excellent performance with their tulips. And I had grown this tulip before.

This year (last fall) I bought a bag of Queen of the Night + a pink at CostCo. Alack, didn't get them chilled but planted anyhow ~ late Dec. I think. They all have nice buds today. Hopefully the darn heatwave will subside so they will last!

Now that I'm thinking, once with CostCo a bag of the gorgeous pastel pink double tulip (name Angelique ??) was a non-bloomer.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    15 years ago