Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njitgrad

Menton Single Late

njitgrad
10 years ago

I have a container of Menton Single Late tulips that are already breaking the surface before some of my earlier blooming varieties. I'm new to bulbs so any information explaining this would be appreciated. According to the catalog, they are supposed to be among the last tulips to bloom.

Does growing tulips in a container significantly change the timing of things? I buried the containers in my raised beds in October and sheltered them from freezing over the winter. I only dug them up last week and have only kept them outdoors when the temps are above freezing, day or night.

Comments (4)

• Campanula UK Z8
    10 years ago

Timing change - not really....although tulips grown in containers tend to do badly as perennials, splitting off into daughter (non-flowering) bulbs after one season. Many people grow them just as annuals....but most, not all, can be perennialised by planting deep in well drained soil which is dryish in winter and gets a good summer baking. They are fairly late flowering, coming into bloom at the same time as the lily-flowered bulbs (around end of April, first couple of weeks in May) and should start to extend daily from now.

• iris_gal
    10 years ago

The weather is the significant factor. Blooming time here has varied by 3 weeks (used to keep yearly calendar to try to co-ordinate everything - Hah!) Plants pay attention to Mother Nature. 'Menton' may be slow to develop its buds?

Read an article years ago by a noted tulip hybridizer. He stated all tulips are splitters. Doesn't matter how deep they are planted nor how cold the winter. The splits do eventually grow to blooming size. I have seen this over the past 10 years with a group of red Darwins.

My favorite tulip, 'Apricot Beauty' belongs to the Triumph group and he said this group is the exception and does not perrenialize for the home gardener. They die out.