Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moving: what to do with bulbs?

Posted by kelisk8s ma (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 27, 10 at 1:01

Hi,
I have been informed that we are going to have to sell my grandmothers house that I have been living in. She loved flowers and had beautiful tulips, daffodils, hyacinths (i can't spell), ect. I would love to take some of these bulbs with me, but I am new to flower gardening and am not sure how to take them out without damaging them. They are currently in bloom... the daffodils are not anymore, but I can identify where they are. They would have to be put in pots because we are not sure where we are going to end up. Please help me keep my grandma's spirit alive and tell me how I should do this! Thank you sooo much!
Kelli

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moving: what to do with bulbs?

Personally I'd delay - not dig anything until the house was actually being bid on. Sometimes a house takes months or even more than a year to sell, you might be able to wait until the bulbs have gone dormant for the year or until you know where you are moving to and can transplant them directly. Unless you already know who's going to be buying the house?

o

We don't know yet... we were hoping to be able to buy it but it gets complicated with medicare and back taxes. Unfortunately we can't afford it, which of course makes me sad. I'm hoping to be able to dig up these flowers to remember the house by. I'm guessing they'd go into pots for now until we have something more permanent. You think I should try to wait as long as possible?

o

You think I should try to wait as long as possible?
I think you should wait as long as possible. When you do have to dig them, I would not pot them up, but instead leave the foliage attached to pretty well dry and wither away (in a dry airy place) , and then store the bulbs until they can be planted in the ground at the proper planting time in the fall in your area.