Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
philly_gardener

questions about perennial tulips from Brecks

philly_gardener
18 years ago

I am really new to tulips. I thought all tulips are perennial, however from the posts I read on this forum, it seems that they may split an dmay not bloom in the second or third year.

Last year, I bought 60 "perennial" tulips from Brecks. In the catalog, Brecks says the "perennial selections" will come back year after year. I know I can wait till next year to make sure what they really are. But I am just curious, do you have any past experience with Breck's "perennial selections"?

I am in zone 6, near Philadelphia area.

Thank you very much!

Comments (9)

• deeds1
    18 years ago

If you want truly perennial Tulip species you have to go for the species, rather than the dutch hybrids I'm afraid.

• pitimpinai
    18 years ago

Most of those tulips might give you two years of blooms if they were planted in well drained soil. You mihgt get a third year on some. After 4-5 years, they'll be gone, if your planting condition is anything like mine.

I read that in certain parts of North America and in the right condition some tulips do come back year after year ---not in mine. If I remember correctly, people in Colorado/Utah are those lucky folks.

As deeds1 said, you'll get perennial tulips from the species which are much smaller and more delicate than the giant Dutch hybrids.

• blueheron
    18 years ago

If you plant them 8-10" deep, you will get more years of blooming. They won't split so easily if planted deeply.

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

Most tulips are reliably perennial in the right conditions. A few grow well in a wider range of conditions. Brecks perennial mix appears to be mostly darwin hybrids or similar, about as tolerant as you can get from a big hybrid. You'll never know if they work for you until you try. Just because someone else can't grow them doesn't mean you won't have better luck :)