Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adayfromnow

Plant or protect? Freeze coming. Panicking. Please Help!?

adayfromnow
17 years ago

Thank you so much for looking at this, and hopefully helping me. I'm a newbie and don't know what to do! I tried to find the answer but I can't. Waaahhh! Whine! Wimper, wimper!

We have an unexpected (potential) freeze coming and I have all of these gifts from neighbors gardens that are pretty much bare-bulbed, or if they're in soil, it's not much (egg cartons & small plastic pots). Should I hurry up and plant them before the freeze? If I do, I won't be able to cover the foliage. I could spread leaves or something over the bases. OR...

Should I try to find some way to cover them as they are? They're all on my deck right now, about 3 feet off the ground. Would I be better off putting them ON the ground & covering them? Can the cover touch them, or does it need to be tented somehow?

LOL I'm freaking out! Please, please, please somebody HELP! I need to get busy doing whatever it is I'm gonna do.

Comments (13)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    17 years ago

I would put them on the ground, and cover them, trying to keep the cover off tented a bit. They should be fine. I would guess they are maybe perennials, or hardy annuals if they are up already.

Not being from Texas, this is just my 'guess'.

How cold is it expected to get? We have had some unseasonably cold night temps (29°F ) the past 2 nights.

Sue

• adayfromnow
    Original Author
    17 years ago