Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie Here...Tulips Bloomed....What to Add?

Posted by arubaiguana none (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 29, 11 at 14:18

Hi all,

I planted some tulip bulbs and Iris Hollandica bulbs (all from Costco) in the fall. The tulips have come up and bloomed and look great. Iris shoots are up (in front of the tulips) but the irises don't look to be close to blooming. And the tips of the shoots are yellow. Is that a bad sign?

Tomorrow I'll be buying some annuals to plant in front of the tulips and irises. What do you guys and girls suggest? I'm in the Baltimore, Maryland area. Garden gets a decent amount of sun, mostly in morning to midday.

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie Here...Tulips Bloomed....What to Add?

Don't those look pretty! Petunias will give you a lot of bang for the buck. Zinnias come in different heights. I partiicularly like 'Profusion Cherry' - the small blooms are prolific and the plant branches & grows til fall.

o
RE: Newbie Here...Tulips Bloomed....What to Add?

I've never tried those irises, but from growing Tall Bearded ones I can tell you that irises should not have yellow tops to their leaves. Right now they should not be blooming yet, though yours should be a little closer to producing the stem in Baltimore. The stem of a tall bearded iris comes from one of the spiky leaves that might seem a little fuller than the others. If the tops of the leaves are turning yellow though, you may not get a bloom. Usually yellowing means you have a water issue (too much or too little). If they're bulbs and not rhiozomes, they probably have different growing requirements. I'm sure some of the experts at the American Iris Society would be happy to help you whether or not you're a member. They have local organizations as well so you might find someone in Baltimore even.