Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bosewichte

Tulip Help!

bosewichte
14 years ago

I found a great sale for tulips - around .30/bulb! - and bought a lot. I couldn't help myself. It was such a good deal, I ended up buying around 200. The tulips are in pots and in full bloom.

My husband and I are planning on moving in the next year, so I certainly don't want to plant 200 bulbs and leave them, or dig them up later. I'm new with bulbs. I have a master plan and wanted to run it past some experts!

I'll leave the tulips in the pots, blooming, watering as needed. When the flowers die, I'll cut the stems back and leave just a few leaves. Continue to leave them outside. When the foliage has died, I will shake out the bulbs and let them dry. Then, I'll pack them in dry cardboard boxes (no soil) and store them in our nice, cool basement.

We SHOULD move in the next year but hopefully it won't be longer. Will the tulip bulbs store for at least a year or two in the basement? Do they need any care, or will they wait cheerfully in some suspended-animation state until we move and I can plant them at our next and hopefully last location?

Thanks for the tips!

Comments (8)

• sunandshadow
    14 years ago

Tulips don't perennialize really well, and the results are worse than usual with forced/potted tulips... But if you don't mind that only a third of them will produce flowers, then yeah do as you suggested, also add fertilizer to the pots after removing the flowers. But when you remove the flowers, leave all the leaves, until they turn yellow and die on their own. Make sure you get them out of the pots before the weather turns freezing.

• bosewichte
    Original Author
    14 years ago