Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redsox_gw

Do you recommend Rununculas?

redsox_gw
15 years ago

Rununculas are so fabulous, like little mini peonies. Are they easy to grow? I read a FAQ online but I don't know how much applied to my area (zone 6).

I am fairly new to bulbs in general. I rarely see anyone (neighbors) grow anything other than daffodils, tulips and the occasional hyacinth.

Are they long blooming? Full sun? Plant in Fall?

What is the best source to purchase them?

Comments (14)

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    15 years ago

I wouldn't recommend them for your area. They need mild winters and long, cool springs. The heat just melts them.

Every once in a while I can't resist though and I buy one or two that are already in bloom. They look great in pots outdoors until the weather heats up... then they fry.

If you are intrested in "other" spring bulbs you came to the right place. Just ask and people will flood you with their favorites!

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

I wouldn't recommend them for your area. They need mild winters and long, cool springs. The heat just melts them.

I just read on line that is colder climates they are treated more as annuals. I'm wondering if maybe they could be grown much like glads, in that they are planted in the spring (maybe could even be started inside) and then in the fall dug and stored cool and dry.

I know I bought some and left them in the ground here and they never returned.

Sue

actually it is Ranunculus

Here is a link that might be useful: Some real beauties at Willow creek!

• redsox_gw
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I noticed my misspelling after I posted! I am heartbroken. You know how you start thinking about something and decide you MUST have it. I will check out the link, thank you.

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

You know how you start thinking about something and decide you MUST have it.