Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ranunculus questions

Posted by ellenr 7A NJ (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 14:46

I just bought this, an impulse buy. Now that I've learned to spell it, I must learn how to grow it.
I bought the plant, didn't know it was a bulb.
Can I plant it in my garden now? - temps are down to 30 degrees at night.
the variety is mache.
from what I've read, in the winter I can dig it up and store the bulbs?

thank you for any info, I am totally new to Ranunculus.

and how did it get such a funny name? :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ranunculus questions

• Posted by hoovb z9 Southern CA (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 14:53

Wayne's page (see link) is a really, really good site for growing Ranunculus--a very enjoyable read as well. It should tell you everything you need to know, and more.

Wikipedia says, of the name:

"The name Ranunculus is Late Latin for "little frog," from rana "frog" and a diminutive ending. This probably refers to many species being found near water, like frogs."

Here is a link that might be useful: Wayne's Ranunculus

o

thanks, I shall check that site. I love what Wiki says about the name.

o

It's a wonderful site. but doesn't answer my questions cuz I have a flowering plant in a pot,
I am sure the best way is to grow from a bulb, but this is what I've got.

o