Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duchessofblackpool

best way to plant amaryllis seeds+best amaryllis book

duchessofblackpool
19 years ago

Hi,

I'd love to hear from anyone with info on best way to sow/germinate amaryllis seeds-- did you use clay pots, plastic or jiffy pots, etc? When do you transplant them? Do you need to use a heating mat? I'd appreciate any and all info since I have zero experience in planting anything from seed.

Another question: is there a comprehensive book on the care & propagation of amaryllis that you can recommend?

Thanks for any help, info, advice.

Comments (17)

• johnva
    19 years ago

I use 4 inch plastic pots. I fill them with wet Pro-Mix BX (potting mix) to about 1/2 from the top. I then fill the remaining space with builders sand. I then take a lable end and make slits in the sand into which I place the seeds, leaving just a piece sticking up. I then wrap the pot in a one gallon clear plastic bag and put them under lights (cool whites).

I have started thousands this way. When the leaves hit the top of the bag I open it for a day, then remove it. When the new bulbs reach about pea size I repot the plants into individual 4 inch plastic pots, potting up to 6 or 8 inch pots when required.

I only water with 1/4 strength liquid fertilizer.

Pics below:

{{gwi:13292}}

{{gwi:13293}}

• birchlog01
    19 years ago

My germination method: