Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dkgarber

tulips are GONE!! Can they recover

dkgarber
14 years ago

I've been growing giant red tulips for about 3 years. The rabbits and deer have eaten several things in my yard, but the tulips are usually never touched, so I never critter proofed them.

I just went outside and they are absoltuely GONE!!! Chewed very cleanly to the soil--clearcut. I beleive this damage all happened in one night and I am blaming the deer, but wondering if was a rabbit (although what rabbit could clear a tulip patch in one sitting??!!).

Anywho, I am heartbroken. I am at the end of my rope as my garden hs been destroyed this winter and now this.

The stems weren't up yet-but the foliage was almost fully up. Will they recover?? If so, I'll spray some repellent on them but if they dont' stand a chance, I won't waste my money.

Heartbroken :-(

Comments (5)

• jeannie7
    14 years ago

I suppose we can assume you live Massachusetts (zone 6) and the tulips have sprouted their foliage---somewhat.
    I don't believe much has come up and what did has been eaten by whatever.
    Many times this occurs when warm spells visit the garden during a winter or early spring thaw and if it comes up to any great degree may cause that to be lost. The plant knows its cold up there and stops further growth.
    It will resume when the soil temperature tells it it is safe.
    Chances are your large tulips have the strength to lose some of the foliage and yet come back up as good as new.
    That has been the experience of my own tulips--and my varmint was indeed a rabbit.
    Rabbits in my area are numerous because many of my neighbors have vegetable gardens.
    I am hoping for the return of a fox...a red fox that has no fear of man and saunters down our road oblivious to traffic. He alone can make a difference in the rabbit population.

• MissMyGardens
    14 years ago

dkgarber, I'm so sorry your foliage was eaten by those critters!