Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dahlia bulbs.. how to plant and how long for first growth?

Posted by nina_lee (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 6, 10 at 19:04

I bought some dahlia bulbs from Lowes, I searched online and had no idea how to plant them, I've never used bulbs before. It was one big center bulb with about 6 little tubers (not sure if that is the right term) shooting off. A lot of the tubers fell off before i could get them in the ground, I went ahead and planted anyway. I had no idea what was the top and what was the bottom, if the tubers should be laying horizontal or sitting straight up???
Also, how long does it take for them to spring up? I am in southeaster virginia and it has been in the 70s and 80s the past 2 weeks (with lows in the 50s) and I planted about 2 weeks ago!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dahlia bulbs.. how to plant and how long for first growth?

I just went into lowes and see that the dahlias there all already have growth and the bag I had bought had zero growth in it. it was seriously just a bulb and dirt, so I will be returning that and buying a new one that looks alive!

o
RE: Dahlia bulbs.. how to plant and how long for first growth?

I hope they came with a label indicating expected height! If you bought something that's going to grow up to six feet high you also need to add in a tall stake 'now'. Sturdy, please, because your dahlia will throw up a lot of stems.

If you already grow potatoes - same sort of soil and conditions: good soil that holds moisture but doesn't stay soggy; good sunlight, and some wind shelter for tall plants.

So long as you don't get late frosts in your area - about a month before the first 'innocent' sprouts show through.

When they start flowering - keep them dead-headed. Take off the finished flowers. It's easy to tell the difference: buds are round and finished flowers are pointed. When you do, check further down the stem to where it branches and you'll likely see more small buds forming.