Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nrmb_gw

What to do with tulips after blooming

nrmb
15 years ago

My tulips are coming like crazy, in fact their getting too thick.I'd like to dig them after blooming, or should I wait till they die back. Whenever I dig them, what should I do with them. I've heard to keep them in a cool dry place then replant in the fall. Some say throw them out.I'm not good at throwing any plant away. Would like some advice. Thanks Nancy

Comments (6)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

I've heard to keep them in a cool dry place then replant in the fall. Some say throw them out.I'm not good at throwing any plant away.
    Wait about 6-8 weeks after the bloom has faded and then dig them and let them dry some,(somewhere out of the sun) and then store in a cool dry place. I'm like you, and can't throw many things away, if I like them.

Tulips often do not do well if left in the ground. I can't say they will do any better digging them and then resetting them in the fall, but most tulips don't do well if just left in the ground from year to year.

There are however some varieties that are a lot more like perennials than other varieties.

After bloom time this spring (and after the foliage fades 6-8 weeks) I too will be digging some to see how they do next spring instead of just leaving them in the ground and hoping for the best.

Sue...chemocurl

• nrmb
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Sue, it's worth a try. If they don,t do well,then we can throw them away and not feel so bad.I do know that when we replant, a little bone meal in the holes won't hurt!!!!

• jsfox
    15 years ago

Our experience is that they always come back less than great the second year. We plant about 2200 bulbs each fall and for all of the effort this takes I prefer to gulp, spend the money, and have a great spring.

• jeannie7
    15 years ago

Mother, I'm a bit confused, you dated your message and stated that your tulips are coming like crazy.