Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Planting Herbs with bulbs?

Posted by wannaflower 5 (My Page) on
Tue, May 10, 11 at 7:18

I am a complete novice when it comes to plants.

I currently have tulips, grape hyacinth, crocus & iris growing in a raised bed next to the deck. Is it possible to plant herbs or other plants in with them?

It's been a cold spring & tulips & hyscinth are just blooming.

Any advice, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
- If it sounds like common sense to you, I haven't gardened long enough for it to even register in my brain! ;-)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Planting Herbs with bulbs?

Sorry no one had input for you. I think it depends upon the herb. I have oregano that is so aggresive and mat forming I doubt a bulb tip could grow thru it. But annual herbs like parsley and basil would pose no problems. And upright rosemary doesn't form a mat. I plant my green onions from the store to keep them fresh.

o

All of my bulbs are mixed in with other plants throughout my yard. :)

o

Is it possible to plant herbs or other plants in with them?
I think it would really depend upon how thickly the bulbs are planted in the bed. If they are say 2" or so apart, I wouldn't suggest planting anything else in the bed, but would just mulch it and keep it weed free throughout the year.

If they are less dense, like planted in clumps throughout the bed, then planting 'some' other things would be fine. As irisgal said above, annual herbs should be fine, but I too would stay away from something as aggressive as oregano.

If there is space between the bulbs/clumps, have you thought about maybe planting some herbs in pretty/interesting containers and setting them in the bulb bed?

Sue

o

Thank you all for the great input! My "bulb bed" is still leafy so I think I'll wait a few weeks before doing anything.

I am going to try to either plant non-invasive annual herbs, or put them in bright pots set around the bulbs. What a neat idea! :-D