Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New bulbs didnt bloom - save them?

Posted by mandolls 4 (My Page) on
Sun, May 16, 10 at 8:09

I am not experienced with spring blooming bulbs. The first time I planted them, about five years ago, I purchased close to $50 worth of what must have become food for the squirrels and chipmunks, because most of them never showed.

That put me off for a while, but last fall I tried it again. I planted daffodils, crocus, lavender mountain lilies and alpine rosy bells. I planted them with a little bulb booster fertilizer and a few moth balls to scare off the rodents. I also added a little bone meal when they started showing in April. Every single one of them came up! The daffodils and crocus were lovely, but the other two types didnt bloom at all. They are definitely not over crowded, The soil is great (my new asiatic lilies all more than doubled). But right now I have some fairly large patches, of what looks like spindly green onions in my bed. I am trying to decide whether to just pull them up, or leave them, hoping for blooming next year.

Any advice? Did I just get bulbs that were to young to bloom? I am getting a refund on them from the company, so tossing them wouldnt seem like I am throwing away the money. But if they might be bloomers next year, I will keep them.

Thanks for your help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New bulbs didnt bloom - save them?

So what didn't bloom? The lavender mountain lilies and alpine rosy bells? I'm not familar with these names. Could you clarify.

Generally bulbs that have been planted properly (soil, sun, etc) will bloom. It's possible if they are hardy types they will bloom next year. You may have gotten ones that were kept in storage too long.

Squirrels love to dig up crocus - search posts to find how to keep them.

o