Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roly0217

Time for Gladiolus bulbs to sprout.

roly0217
14 years ago

Hello everybody !!! This is my first time posting here. Until 2 weeks ago I only grew orchids with a collection reaching aroud 280. Now I decided to start a bulb garden comprised of Gladiolus, Asiatic lilies, Calla lilies and Dahlias. I received my Glads before yesterday and planted them yesterday. Hard work since it was 150 bulbs. Now my question is when would I start seeing foliage and flowers???

Thank you very much;

Rolando

Comments (8)

• firkindness
    14 years ago

I'm in zone 4 and took a gamble and put my glad corms from last year in today. In a couple of weeks I'll start putting in my new stock to extend the bloom season. As long as the weather holds, I'll expect to start seeing foliage in about 2 1/2 weeks and blooms by the end of June or early July. By staggering my plantings, I can have flowers until the end of September unless I get froze out.

• emilyobx
    14 years ago

I'm in zone 8 and I just saw blooms on two of my established glads today ( I can leave them in the ground all year). The ones I planted in May are spiking through the ground but nothing close to flowering yet.

• roly0217
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Well all of the bulbs have sprouted already and the foliage is close to 3 feet high already so I'm hoping to see blooms sometime next month. Also the lilies and callas are doing great. The dahlias are the ones struggling a bit but still growing :D

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    14 years ago