Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wicky_gw

Planting bulbs right side up?

wicky
18 years ago

I am VERY new to gardening. We bought our first home in mid-July last year, and have spent a lot of this spring digging up new gardens, and getting rid of many weeds.

Yesterday afternoon I started planting things in a newly dug garden in the back. I planted about 30 gladiola bulbs. Here's a silly question, do the bulbs have a "right side up" way in which to plant them?

I kind of just dug the hole and threw a bulb in. I never even thought that they might have a "right side up". Do I need to go back this afternoon and dig them up and replant them again?

Comments (10)

• dazed77
    18 years ago

I am new to gardening to, but I looked up instructions on how to grow gladiolas and I wa successful. Here is what I did: I dug up the ground where I was to plant the bulbs. I put a 3" layer of top soil followed by a 2" layer of peat moss. I buried the bulbs in the soil with the pointed end facing upwards and covered the entre bulb except for the end that pointed out. (this is where the shoot will come out from) Then I surrounded the bulbs with mulch. Within 5 days I had shoots coming up.

• bigeasyjock
    18 years ago

Some bulbs are easy to tell up from down simply look for the roots came out of ;o) Go grab an onion. Note that the top is a plain smooth tip while where the roots were its rough and you may be able to see lots of little nubs. Those nubs are the spots where the roots once emerged from the bulb.
    Other bulbs are not so easy ... like Galds. For those bulbs a LSU Ag friend ( a professor none the less ;o) said it best .... plant them sideways! That way the growing plant will go in the proper direction all on its own. So for the glads, which are some what flat bulbs, stick 'em in the ground on their sides and they will be fine :o)
    Mike

• haweha
    18 years ago