Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessie30_gw

Beginner to Bulbs

jessie30
13 years ago

Hi, I need some advice on bulbs.

My husband and I recently purchased a new home and have been planting things - so far so good with things like roses, daylilies, lilies, irises, gardenias, Texas star, etc. Most of these are transplants from are old house, some are new purchases. Be prepared, I am a newbie and have a bunch of questions...

We now want to purchase rhizomes to add and expand the iris variety for next year. When do I plant these and when would I expect to see them next spring? Someone also told me to put 20-25 mini "bulbs" in one hole for a good planting, is this right?

I have never grown crocus before, but know they are in the iris family and come from bulbs. I am going to put these with my irises, hope that looks OK. Is there any types I can purchase and plant now for Fall blooming? If so, which kinds? I am confused on the time it takes in between putting them in the ground and seeing them bloom. Not sure if I have enough time to see any this year before Spring of next year...if I missed the window of time this year already. Otherwise, when do I need to plan on planting crocus this year and expect to see them bloom?

I also want to branch out and add some daffodils. Any recommendations on another to mix with it that is easy to grow and not expensive? I thought about tulips but then read online that after two years they quit blooming and require digging up the bulbs and replanting! I am not interested in doing that.

Any recommendations for some online suppliers that sell for good prices? My local growers are very expensive. I have found a few people around here that grow daylilies and such that split them off to sell, but not these other things.

I am extremely grateful for any guidance provided. I want a gorgeous yard and don't want to find out the hard way with a lot of costly mistakes. My email is jessikamcbride@msn.com

Comments (6)

• iris_gal
    13 years ago