Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momma_s

Can someone help me get started?

momma_s
14 years ago

Hello. I have two 2'x6' sections that will back against a raised patio/deck that is a red color that I'm looking to add flowers, but I have NO experience with flowers (I've managed so far to almost kill my snapdragons, verbena and marigolds).

I'm hoping some of you can give me a few plant ideas that will cover the following criteria...

~Don't really want the standard daffodil, tulip or lilies. I like irises.

~Variety of plants that I can plant at one time for low maintenance and continual bloom throughout the year (I recall seeing a pic in a mag of different bulbs/plants planted at different depths that would bloom in succession but it was in a container).

~Not too much green, more blooms per plant.

~Any books with lots of pictures you would like to recommend (mention of seasons helps too)?

TIA for your tips & advice!

Comments (5)

• vetivert8
    14 years ago

Are you a humid 9b or a dry 9b? Summer dry? Or winter dry?

By combining bearded Iris with bulb Iris you can get a long flowering season but perhaps not 'all year' You might need to look at various shrubs for that sort of sustained performance.

Bulbs are built as they are so they can whizz into leaf and flower over a 'rainy' season - then hide out over a sustained period of dry. Corms and tubers do the same thing - storing food supplies to survive drought.

Check out the South African daisies, and include Gerbera, Gazania, Arctotis. Think about succulents such as Echeveria - and interplant with spring bulbs such as Rhodohypoxis, Hypoxis, Sparaxis, Tritonia, species Gladiolus.

With an informal garden there's still work, but perhaps not as intensive as for a formal layout.

• ladychroe
    14 years ago