Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
OK to cut down only tulips?

Posted by Miss.Fernandez 6a (My Page) on
Sat, May 24, 14 at 22:30

I'm new to bulbs and I have been reading a lot on this site about when to cut down the foliage. I've seen a lot of people say to cut down foliage for Daffodils but not too many say about Tulips. Tulips need photosynthesis too?

Is it ok to cut down the stem now and let the foliage brown down (for both tulips and Daffodils) and cut later? Im attaching a picture of then now. I have Crocus, Daffodils and Tulips. Can I just cut now?!?!? I really want to use that area to highlight some smaller annuals. They stopped blooming about 4 weeks ago.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: OK to cut down only tulips?

Stem may be cut but foliage left just like other bulbs.

However, many people find the 2nd year bloom of tulips not worth it and cut off the foliage. If you plant summer annuals which require water, that water will aid in disintegration (rot) of the tulip bulbs.

o

OK. So that means that the area where I plant bulbs, I shouldn't plant annuals? Can I plant summer blooming bulbs or that's the same thing?

o

In my experience you can certainly plant annuals. Just put them between the bulbs. They'll help hide the dying foliage. Or use perennials and intersperse with bulbs. I have bulbs throughout my garden and it's a mixture of perennials, bulbs, shrubs and small trees. I never need to water the garden but we do have plentiful rainfall and the bulbs are not affected. A bed in spring:

o
The same bed in late Summer

The bulbs are still in there and are unaffected by the later growth. (From the other direction)

o

Wow!! Nice Pictures Floral_UK!!!! Thanks! I'll see what I can do. I also thought this was going to be a nice thing to do a bulb 'sandwich' by planting Tulips first then above that, Daffodils, then above that Crocus. I guess I should plan better. LOL.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bulb Sandwich How To

o