Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duckytheloon

HELP: Daffodils in pots for a wedding!

duckytheloon
13 years ago

Salutations!

This is my first post ever on GardenWeb, even though I've had an account for quite a while. I am de-lurking because I need your help! This message has also been posted in the container gardening forum.

I recently got engaged (June 6th, to be precise), and my fiance and I are in need of some daffodil advice...relevant to our wedding!

I am studying to become a field botanist, and he himself comes from a very nature-oriented family. What we believe to be "Twin Sisters" (N. x medioluteus) is naturalized on his beloved family farm from an old home site. He grew up admiring this heirloom with its "loving couples" twinned blossoms, and it occurred to us that they would be very symbolic and lovely if used as the main flower in our future wedding. Having spent much time together rescuing and tending daffodils made the idea seem even more romantic and appropriate. However, this variety does not seem to be a very reliable bloomer here in Kentucky. We have finally decided to switch to another biflowered variety for this occasion and would love to hear everyone's advice on varieties and culture.

I have been looking into the triandus division for our possible replacement, the variety Ice Wings being the leading favorite. According to my research, it bears 2-3 flowers per stem, has graceful form and lovely coloring, and is available from wholesale catalogs at reasonable prices (we are a young couple and need to scrimp and save!). I have been assured that like Thalia (the only triandus I have experience with), it blooms reliably and in plenty in the first year from planting. If there are any varieties you would recommend for our purposes over this one, please let me know. Here are our specific questions...we hope that someone might be able to answer them for us!