Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lazydaisies

Tulip Crazy - anyone else??

Hi there. I'm new to bulbs - last year I planted daffodils, allium, and tulips in my garden and I must say I am in love. Mostly w/ tulips but I love the other two as well.

I planted some simple white tulips and they were just gorgeous and the blooms lasted for several weeks. The foliage is finally dying back but they lasted much longer than I thought they would!

I have just been tulip crazy lately, looking online for bulbs. I'm definitely not wishing summer away but I am anxious to pick out tulips and plant them this fall.

Anyone else anxious for new bulbs? What do you guys grow and what are you planning on growing next year?

My #1 tulip I must get for next year is the Ice Cream Tulips. :o)

Comments (6)

• pitimpinai
    9 years ago

I planted bulbs so that they would bloom in succession from late January/early February though October/November

This is the succession of blubs in my garden. They would overlap each other somewhat and fill the gaps among perennials.

Snowdrops - Eranthis hyemalis - Miniature Iris - Crocus - Miniature Daffodils - Scilla sibirica - Chionodoxa - Puschkinia - Erythronium americanum - Early - Mid - Late season Daffodils & Tulips - Muscari - Miniature tulips - Anemone blanda - Fritillaria meleagris - Fritillaria pallida - Allium afflatunense/Globematers/cristophii- Leucojum estivum - Beaded Iris - Lillies (Asiatic/trumpet/tigrinum/spiciosum) - Licoris squamigera-fall crocus - Colchicum

The bulb that gives me the most bangs for the bucks is Allium albopilosum or cristophii. It is so very pretty. The seed head holds itself through late fall-early winter. {{gwi:20210}}{{gwi:20625}}{{gwi:20211}}

I took Colston Burrell'a suggestion to heart. He wrote that you can plant thousands of bulbs in your garden among your other plants such as perennials & shrubs. So I planted them in layers in any spot I can find among my perennials