Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Gladiolus Choking Out

Posted by zenith931 5/6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 24, 12 at 15:31

Hello,

I planted a few gladiolus in pots and apparently I planted too many per pot. Some of the plants are turning brown and dying while others are setting bloom. I think the other plants are fighting each other for room and getting choked out. (It pushed up and out a petunia annual I had!)

Is it worth moving the bulbs now, while the foilage is still semi-green? Maybe after it's moved to a more spacious location, it can at least get some energy to store before the season ends?

Or should I let the plant die off? Will it be dead for good?

Thanks for your help. This is my first time planting gladiolus and I was ignorant to how much space they needed.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Gladiolus Choking Out

Those that have finished: cut off the tops close above the corm. Dig the corm from the ground/pot. Place on a tray that lets air circulate. Put the corms into a cool airy and dry shed. Take off the old corm (looks like shrivelled leather) as it loosens from the fresh corm after about three weeks.

If you want to - save the 'spawn' - the little bulblets around the parent corm. Put them into packets (labelled) for planting out when you'd plant your first rows of peas. If you run a tunnel house or glasshouse - probably January/February or on into March.

Those that still have green leaves - liquid fertiliser at the recommended strength. Seaweed, fish, compost tea, comfrey would all be useful every five to seven days until they brown off. Stop then. If you drink tea - cold tea (no milk, sugar or lemon...) can be used, too. Something like MitracleGrow for tomatoes could be useful.

For next time - a mix of compost and potting soil. Plant six inches apart and four inches down. Put in the stakes at the same time as you park the corms (prevents having bulb kebabs). Takes about 90 days to flowering.