Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnabaskets

Digging Crinums

Donna
14 years ago

I have never done this before, but have seen the "broken shovel picture galleries". I am wondering if anyone here has done it and has any tips. Is it best to dig up the whole clump or is it possible to remove offsets without disturbing the whole clump? Is there a better time of year than other?

Comments (7)

• bubba62
    14 years ago

I hate to say it, but there IS no "good" time to dig 'em - it's rough going, esp. with old clumps, any time of the year! Now's probably a great time, as far as the plants are concerned, but hot, sticky, and mosquito-ridden here, and probably where you are, too. I've been putting off doing this all summer and am going to have to bite the bullet and go for it pretty soon.

Anyway, I've not had good success with just digging offsets - most times they're attached so far under the original bulb that it's impossible to separate them without either losing the bulb plate (where the roots attach) or severing part of the parent bulb. The best method I've found is to dig a trench all the way around the clump so that you can see where the base is, then going underneath with the shovel and lifting the whole clump; sometimes you can tilt it sideways and remove offsets at this point, rather than lifting it entirely. Sorry (for both of us)that I don't have an easier answer!

• Donna
    Original Author
    14 years ago

It helps to know what I am up against, at least. My clumps are only about five years old, and I am thinking maybe I should thin them before they get so big that it's beyond me. Do you think that makes sense? Thanks for the response. I would not have known how the offsets are attached. I will be very careful of them and the mamas too. They really are some of my most cherished plants.

• bubba62
    14 years ago