Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lila888

Please Help ID this Crinum Lily

lila888
14 years ago

I bought this Crinum at Ebay. The only one blooming out of 7. This is my first time growing Crinums, any help would be much appreciated.

TIA

lila

{{gwi:23160}}

{{gwi:23162}}

{{gwi:23164}}

{{gwi:23166}}

Comments (8)

• kayjones
    14 years ago

Do a google.com search for Crinum powellii Rosea and see if it's the one you have.

• lila888
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks kayjones. I did do a search and my crinum look like Ellen Bosanquet.

• bubba62
    14 years ago

Yep, Ellen Bosanquet's the best guess.

• Donna
    14 years ago

I agree with bubba. It looks just like my Ellen B., and since this one is prolific and readily available commercially, it's highly likely that's what you have.
    FYI, crinums are not winter hardy in your area. They are cold hardy only in zones 7b and higher. BUT, if they are disturbed (dug or divided), they may take two or three years to bloom again. So, you will need to keep your bulbs in pots and bring them inside for the winter. They like plenty of water and nitrogen during their growing season. I do not know what kind of care they would need in the winter.

• lila888
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you so much bubba62 and donnabaskets. They are planted in pots right now and I wish I planted them in much bigger pots if I have known they do not like being disturbed. Come wintertime, I will treat and care for them just like my hippeastrums.

• debbiecz3
    14 years ago