Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hellebores with bulbs?

Posted by daysquid 7 Annapolis, MD (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 9, 12 at 20:33

I'm new to gardening and have purchased some grape galaxy hellebores. I'd really like suggestions on what bulbs to plant with them. Thanks to all.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hellebores with bulbs?

I'd consider snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis), checker lilies (Fritillaria meleagris) or any of the early narcissus, like 'Tete a tete'. Any crocus would work, too. These all tend to have an early bloom season so will compliment the flowering of the hellebore and are happy in part shade or less than full sun locations. And they appreciate the dryness in summer, as does the hellebore.

o

I love these suggestions. Thanks. I also found this tulip...

http://www.burpee.com/flowers/flowering-bulbs/fall-planted-bulbs/tulip-bulbs/tulip-insulinde-prod002450.html

Do you think it would work?

o

It's a beautiful tulip so plant it if you like but it will be in bloom much later than the hellbores. Also would prefer to be in full sun.

o

Maybe I'll experience with a few -- but thanks for pointing out that it likes full sun. Hmmm.

o

Not exactly bulbs but I have pink and white hardy Cyclamen under/between my hellebores which cope with the dry conditions and flower in late summer.

o

Also not exactly bulbs - and in small patches where the Hellebores won't swamp them - Anemone blanda, Anemone nemorosa, Polygonatum (variegated, otherwise it could be a 'battle of the garden thugs') and, if they're hardy for you - various Corydalis.

o

Yes - I have Corydalis solida in the same bed. Very early and then disappears until next spring.

o

• Posted by daysquid US 7 Annapolis, MD (My Page) on
    Wed, Aug 15, 12 at 17:15

Thanks for all these suggestions. Very helpful. Keep them coming. I had thought about adding tassel ferns but I'm confused about them liking dryness. I've seen pictures of helebores with ferns. Thoughts?

o