Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bulb storage 'til planting

Posted by maevesgarden 6b/7aPhiladelphia (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 26, 10 at 9:44

Hi folks,

I'm new to planting bulbs in the northeast since I just bought a house here last winter. I just received my first order of narcissus (many different varieties), snowdrops, crocus...about 250 bulbs in all. We've had an unusually long, hot summer here and it was still approaching 90 degrees the other day, though now it has cooled to the upper 70s. It seems too early to plant as the soil is still quite warm. How do I store these bulbs until it is cool enough to plant? Are they ok in their bags in the garage or do they need refrigeration?

Thanks for your help to a newbie. I've always been a daff lover and am SO excited to see a display come spring and don't want to ruin the bulbs by doing something stupid :-)

-Maeve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bulb storage 'til planting

Are they ok in their bags in the garage or do they need refrigeration?
They should be fine in the garage and don't need refrigeration. I would however remove them from the box and sort of spread out the bags. You don't have critters (mice) in the garage, do you? If so, the daffodils would be fine, but the other bulbs might be eaten.

I just received my first order of narcissus (many different varieties)
Oh, what did you get? I'm a daffodil grower, shower, collector and always looking for some I don't already have. Possibly you have some I don't have. Possibly we could trade a few bulbs to both increase the number of varieties we grow...just wondering.

chemocurl...aka Sue

o

Hi Sue,