Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kylemcc

Paperwhites in glass for a June wedding

kylemcc
13 years ago

All,

I'm asking as an admitted novice, who did at least try to search the old forums...

I'm getting married in June 2011 in Chicago, and like the idea of having paperwhites, in glass jars (roots visible, etc.) as small centerpieces along the tables. I've never done anything with bulbs before, and was researching online this morning. I've noticed that, coincidentally, many bulbs are now becoming available.

However, the wedding's in June, and I don't know the best way to make this idea work. I've read that the bulbs should bloom within 6-8 weeks of planting in water, with ~ 2 weeks of bloom. But, I just have to admit that I don't know when to buy them. Can I buy bulbs now (Sept) and hang on to them until the spring? Will they keep? Or do I try to buy some in the spring, closer to the wedding? Are paperwhite bulbs even available then?

Thanks much in advance to anyone who can advise on this --

Kyle

Comments (5)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    13 years ago

I would suggest you contacting Brent and Becky's linked below and explaining what you want to do along with your wedding date. They are very knowledgeable daffodil folks, and Brent even does daffodil hybridizing.

They can then maybe advise you, and let you know when to get the bulbs, if and when exactly to plant them with what temps they will need to be kept at to assure blooms on your wedding day.

I see it as a very hit or miss situation, though it is a nice idea.

Good luck and Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

Sue

Here is a link that might be useful: Contact info for Brent and Becky

• scully931
    13 years ago

Also, remember that paperwhites smell really bad. :-/ At least to me. I don't even grow them anymore because more than one person walked into my house and asked what the smell was. Eventually had to move them into the sunroom and keep the door shut.

• Dar Sunset Zone 18