Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rouge21_gw

Allium Christophii is hard to find in person?

I do love alliums but I was late in discovering "Christophii".

I did put in an on-line order back in August and it seems lucky I did as I can find no sign of this allium at any nursery I have visited. Has it been your experience that "Christophii" is a bit hard to find at a 'brick and mortar' store?

Comments (8)

• pitimpinai
    9 years ago

I don't think I have ever seen it in any store anywhere.
    I get it from Van Engelen. It is the same as Allium albopilosum.

I have been growing this Allium for at least 20 years. Love it. Love it. Love it. I leave the flowerheads alone until the wind blows them away in late fall or winter.

I tried to winter sow the seeds without success, but they have reseeded in recent years. So this year I had a bumper crop of Allium cristophii.

• pitimpinai
    9 years ago

I forgot that you live in Canada. Can you order from Van Engelen?

• rouge21_gw (CDN Z5b/6a)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the posts pitimpinai.

Just today I found a nursery that does stock it.

(Plus I do have 20 coming from an on-line source from an order I placed back in early August...hopefully coming in before the end of the month).

I saw it for the first time this past early summer, when they were past their prime and I was still so impressed.

I have several other alliums but they are mostly the very tall varieties. I liked the fact that "Christophii" was significantly shorter.

pitimpinai, can you tell me a bit more about it....how tall does it get for you? I take it that it does reseed in the garden (I have not found that with any of my other alliums).

• pitimpinai
    9 years ago

Hi rouge21,

I am glad you found suppliers for this allium. You will love it as I do.

This allium grows 1 - 1 1/2 ft. tall with a flowerhead up to 9 - 10" in diameter depending on the spacing. It is smaller if planted too close.