Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Forcing Parrot Tulips

Posted by dooyensan (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 1, 09 at 0:57

Hello. I'm super new to forcing bulbs to grow. I have never done it before so this is the first time I'm trying this method.

I have tried to look for big, firm tulip bulbs but I was a bit late and all the smaller ones are left. The ones that I got are firm but are a bit blemished and small. I was just wondering if anyone had successfully forced small bulbs to grow? Also, is it okay if I got a pot that only has one drainage holes in the bottom? Should I even bother forcing the small ones? Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Forcing Parrot Tulips

I think I would just plant the small Parrot tulip bulbs in the garden for this year. If you want to force some bulbs, the large crocus and small narcissus types are easier to start with than tulips. Hyacinths are relatively easy too. Get large, firm, healthy bulbs and look for cultivars that are marked "good for forcing". I just use green plastic pots with drainage holes in them. You can always put those plastic pots inside more decorative containers when you bring the pots from your cool basement (or unheated garage) into your living room. If you do a "google search" on forcing bulbs, you should find lots of info. on how deep to plant, number of weeks to "chill", etc.

o
RE: Forcing Parrot Tulips

Thank you for the tips! Yes, I've googled forcing bulbs and found lots of information. I will start with hyacinths and paperwhites first and work my way up to tulips next year.