Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladylatitude

Necessary to dig up daffodils every year?

LadyLatitude
12 years ago

Hi there!

I'm new to growing bulbs, and I've got about 20 daffodil bulbs I got a garage sale for just a few dollars. A few were light weight and "dude-like" but most are hefty in weight, and I just get the sense that they're going to be beautiful. The seller said they were "mixed yellow" whatever that means.

I'd like to plant them in the front yard which faces east. My question is why should anyone dig up their daffodils after the foliage dies down? Is it because it gets too hot? Why not just leave them in the ground? If so many people dig them up, there must be a reason, but I can't figure it out.

Any other daffodil advice for a newbie is welcome too!

Comments (6)

• Donna
    12 years ago

After a number of years in one place, good naturalizing bulbs will multiply and "choke" themselves off. When you notice that they are not blooming as well, you then dig them, divide them, and replant. Thus, multiplying the number of plants you have. That is the only reason I can think of to dig them up, IF you are planting bulbs that are suitable to your location. As far south as you are, many bulbs, especially those that are "multi purpose" ones sold by the Big Box stores will not get enough winter chill to come back and rebloom year after year.

For more information, I highly recommend the book "Garden Bulbs for the South" by Scott Ogden. Here in my Mississippi garden, I plant only the ones he recommends. He has never steered me wrong.

"Mixed Yellow" probably means that there is more than one variety of bulb, but that all of their blooms, which may be of different sizes, are yellow (as opposed to white).

• cynnagirl
    12 years ago