Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jhchrist

Just handed a bag of freshly dug crocosmia corms---Help!

jhchrist
11 years ago

Hello,

A complete Newbie here......just bought my first pair of gardening gloves!

I have just moved into a house with a yard (yay!) after living in an apartment for almost 20 years. There are no beds dug in the yard yet, and really I do not know where I want to even place beds yet! Alot of brush clearing has to happen first. There are some old overgrown beds, but I would like to see what pops up in them next Spring before I go messing around with them. But a kind-hearted family member has just handed me about 5 pounds of Lucifer Crocosmia corms. I asked her about getting them through the winter unplanted and she has no idea how to do that...she assumed I would be putting them in the ground right away.

What can I do that would give them a shot at surviving unplanted this Winter?

I have read everything from store them in a hanging onion bag to 'plant' them in a big box of peat moss and water them sparingly all winter.

All help appreciated....I know that these are beautiful plants, and I would like to have them thrive somewhere in my new yard!

Comments (5)

• vetivert8
    11 years ago

You already know that Crocosmia is hardy in your area and does well - for someone to kindly give you five pounds of surplus bulbs ;-).

If the soil in your garden is gritty and doesn't hold water for too long after rain (more than half an hour before the puddles drain away) - I'd find a clear patch, dig out the weeds, make an eight to ten inch wide and two inch deep trench and plant out the bulbs with two inches between them. Then cover them over.

I'd mark the trench at either end with a sturdy peg that no bird will be able to move. Then I'd mulch that row with branchlets up to a thumb's thickness in diameter, then covered by twigs and leaves so air can get through and it doesn't become boggy over winter.