Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rredbbeard

Cyclamen bulb's decline--suggestions?

rredbbeard
12 years ago

I had a large ivy-leaf cyclamen, 6-7" wide and very flat, that I had been growing successfully for the past several years. Last year it went into its normal leafless dormancy, and by Spring it had completely rotted out. Is it normal for these corms to have a limited 'lifespan'? If I had divided the corm a couple of years ago, would it have made a difference?

Luckily, I have 3 little selfed seedlings from that plant that are doing well after one year, and any insights would be appreciated.

(I tend to keep cyclamens shallow-potted with the top of the corm exposed from the soil. During late winter dormancy I keep them in a cool room with no water or direct light for several months.)

Thanks!

--Rick

Comments (11)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    12 years ago

Found this at the link below:
    Do not water the center of the plant or the tuber may rot."

snip

". Once all the leaves have dried, a process that could take up to two months, the tuber may be repotted into a container that is 1 inch larger in diameter than the old pot. This is usually necessary only every 2 years."

Lucky you to have some little seedling left though.

Sue

Here is a link that might be useful: Getting the Most Out of Your Blooming Plant

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    12 years ago

I've heard of cyclamen that are 40-50 years old and going strong. Dividing the corm probably would not have helped and I think it's kind of a risky move with healthy cyclamen.

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    12 years ago

I've heard of cyclamen that are 40-50 years old and going strong.
    Kato, are you talking about cyclamen as house plants, or about hardy cyclamen planted in the ground?

Sue...off to plant daffs....

• vetivert8
    12 years ago