Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fanelda

1/2 inch Chicken Wire Tulip Bulb Cages

fanelda
15 years ago

I am stressing! I have spent hours making 12 square chicken wire bulb cages using 1/2 inch opening chicken wire. A family member said that the opening is too small! Is it????

Comments (20)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    15 years ago

No the wire size is ok. It is usually called aviary wire. Its only fault is the same as chicken wire. The gauge of wire is light and the years it is usable for this purpose is limited due to its rusting away in the soil. Hardware cloth is twice the wire gauge and will last much longer in the soil. It is also much more difficult to make into baskets. Al

• peonyman
    15 years ago

Fanelda, I don't think you mean chicken wire. Chicken wire is usually 1" hexagonal openings of very light wire. If the wire is 1/2 inch holes it would be hardware cloth which is much more rigid than the chicken wire. I have been making bulb baskets of this for 20 years; otherwise voles will get every tulip bulb that I plant every time. I just sink the basket into the ground with the top of the basket level with the top of the ground and plant the bulbs in it. This method has worked wonders for my being able to grow bulbs that would otherwise be quickly consumed by voles. I consider the time spent making the baskets as time well spent.

• pippi21
    14 years ago

How about some dimensions or do you have a pattern that you use. The one I liked used to be sold by Gardeners Supply but they no longer carried the product. White flower farm sells one that I thought about ordering one, then I could use that as a pattern. Is the wire difficult to cut with wire pylers or wire snips?

• pippi21
    13 years ago

Peonyman..can we see some pictures of your bulb cages that you make. Can you post a picture of the hardware cloth that you use? Where do you buy this hardware cloth from? Would Home Depot or Lowe's sell it or should we go to a local hardware store?

• Nancy