Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenerprer

Daffodils and Freesia sprouting

gardenerprer
11 years ago

My Daffodils and Freesia are sprouting now here in Zone 9. Is it too early to start sprouting? I am thinking if it because of the warmer days we are still having here in Phoenix. Nights are cool though lower 50s.
What do I do now for these bulbs? Add Bone meal or something? I did add earlier when I had planted below in the hole. Please let me know how do I care for them. Any sun protection as it is upper 70s in daytime?
This is my first time planting bulbs :) Thank you for any help.

Comments (11)

• socalgal_gw Zone USDA 10b Sunset 24
    11 years ago

I'm in a slightly different zone (10); my freesias started sprouting a few weeks ago and daffodils are just starting to sprout. This is normal for them in my garden.

• vetivert8
    11 years ago

Mostly - don't let the Freesias dry out over winter. As you're coming up to midwinter the sun will be lower in the sky but a little shade may be necessary if the temperatures remain high.

They don't mind light frost. They can sprawl with too much rain.

Feed them with dilute liquid fertiliser when the buds start to show - a balanced N-P-K brew at half strength each week until the foliage dies down in mid to late spring.

If you bought the coloured florists' type - provide them with some support to stop them flopping.

If you have a fairly open soil you can leave them in the ground over summer. Or lift them and keep them in a cool place (breezeway, for example) until you replant next June or thereabouts.

Early 'daffodils' such as the Earlicheers and paperwhites are supposed to be up now and you could easily be seeing buds/flowers later this month and early next. They would also probably appreciate water if your weather is both hot and dry at present.