Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Galtonia candicans

Posted by hardytropicalguy z6 SWMI (My Page) on
Mon, Nov 23, 09 at 21:58

I have a thing for South African plants and this would include Galtonia. I little known summer flowering Hyacinth relative. The bulbs that produced these flowers were originally from Brent and Becky's bulbs. They were planted in Tennessee and found their way north to Michigan. They are planted along a South wall so are in a protected position but are listed as hardy in my zone 6 garden. They are rated to zone 5 on Brent and Becky's website.
Galtonia candicans

Here is a link that might be useful: flower farm and Gardens Blog

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Galtonia candicans

I have been growing them for 15 years and they are one of my favorites. They multiply easily and also start from seed. They do not reseed themselves however. In my zone they take care of themselves, and only get summer watering here in dry summer California. Al

o

Wish I could get them at the right time of year! All the growers seem to make them available in the spring, while October is the right month to plant them in my climate. I have the same trouble with Lachenalia and Gladiolus.

Alas for the tyranny of the majority!
Kevin : ]

o

If the Lachenalias you're after are in leaf/bloom in spring you shouldn't have a problem. Just let them come to a natural finish and withhold water over the summer.

If they've been imported dry (end of our spring) hold them in cool dry over the summer (in soil, usually) then shake out and plant at the time that's right for you. Some of them can be held dormant for one-two years with no problem.

If you have a glasshouse - they definitely leaf up and have longer stalks in the reliable warmth (55-60F). Winter wet and active growth with very low frost. Go lightly on any high Nitrogen fertiliser. Wait until the leaves are well up before increasing the amount of water. Excellent air circulation required.