Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diamondgirlie

Possible Paperwhite Disaster

diamondgirlie
14 years ago

I was given three paperwhite bulbs and a container full of coir as a gift from a friend. She got them at Target, and they had possibly already started sprouting (some of the partially-open packages had sprouts, she said).

She put them in the fridge for three weeks before she gave them to me.

When I took them out of the package and potted them, they had whitish shoots about an inch and a half long, no roots, and brown tips on the shoots. They have been potted for a week, and have not really done anything.

Are they doomed, bulb experts? Or are they secretly making roots or something?

Comments (8)

• Donna
    14 years ago

If the bulbs weren't soft and mushy, my money's on the bulbs being alright. Give them some time.

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    14 years ago

Are they doomed, bulb experts? Or are they secretly making roots or something?
    I'm no bulb expert, but will tell you what I think anyway.

Those bulbs were either prechilled, or else did not need to be chilled before planting.

She put them in the fridge for three weeks before she gave them to me.

When I took them out of the package and potted them, they had whitish shoots about an inch and a half long, no roots, and brown tips on the shoots.
    That was probably not a good thing since it sounds like they had already broken dormancy and were growing, thus the white shoots.

They have been potted for a week, and have not really done anything.
    Well , they have been confused by that additional time when they were refrigerated. My guess, is that they will in time root in and likely bloom for you. They may not bloom as well as they would have had they not gotten that additional refrigerator time. That is however just my 'optimistic' guess. Hopefully others who are more familiar with forcing bulbs will weigh in with some more input.

Sue

• diamondgirlie
    Original Author
    14 years ago