Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gee_oh_nyc

Growing Amaryllis Belladonna

gee_oh_nyc
17 years ago

Does anyone grow Amaryllis Belladonna in containers outdoors? If so, do you plant anything else in the same container when the foliage dies down? I'm new to this plant and would love to hear other people's experience of it,

Thanks,

George

Comments (10)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The pink Belladonna (which looks very similar to the much hardier Lycoris Squamigera) I see is only hardy to zone 7.

If left outside in your zone 7 area, in a pot, as opposed to having more protection in the ground, I would think might damage the bloom or the bulb.

To be safe, I would plant it in the ground, or move the container to a well protected area, possibly an unheated garage.

Sue

17 years ago

I meant to add the link below.

I might add, that the blooms pictured look exactly like the Lycoris I grow. I think they are oftentimes confused because they are so similar in looks and habit.

Here is a link that might be useful: Belladonna

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    17 years ago

I agree, I think they are confused ALOT! Unfortunately I bet you don't know you have the wrong one until it dies over the winter.

Actually Sue I think the "belladonna" photo on your link is actually a picture of the hardier lycoris! But let me just say I am in no way an expert..... (I just read way too much about plants)... but I think the amaryllis has more of a trumpet shaped bloom like an easter lily and the lycoris is more open and loose.