Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bake_neko

Very warm December & Bulbs

bake-neko
12 years ago

This is my first try at a bed of bulbs since I was a kid. Dug a nice bed, got everything planted and finally mulched, and though it was a bit late in the season by the time I was done, we were having an exceptionally warm fall so it seemed things would be OK.

Now it's still warm, and no kidding I noticed yesterday after the news reported daffodils blooming, all of my bulbs are putting up shoots. In East Massachusetts, in mid December.

The spikes are between an inch and 2 inches high so far, varying from plant to plant. I don't know how I missed it before.

Heck, I have a potted rose on my deck that's still blooming.

It's not going to be this warm all winter. I'm wondering if, when the real cold finally hits, this might kill them? I doubt there's anything I can do about it now, but does anyone know of anything? I'm not having any luck searching this issue. Not this specific issue anyway...

The bulbs are Crocus (the only ones that appear to have had the sense to not sprout yet), Tulips, Hyacinth, Scylla and several varieties of Iris. I can try for better description of varietals if needed, but I'm new at this and it's been a while since I planted them.

Comments (3)

• aggiegrad
    12 years ago

well, except for the iris, I would just cover them up with some leaves or mulch for the winter. I don't rake my leaves up till spring for just that reason. but then I don't have a lawn only flower bulbs everywhere. your flowers should be fine, under some cover. snow won't hurt them, they like the cold. it's frost you have to worry about. that's not good for the bulbs. they could probably use a little more dirt on top of them, too. perhaps they aren't buried quite far enough. not the iris of course, they like being above ground & uncovered. by spring you should see some very pretty flowers come up.

• bake-neko
    Original Author
    12 years ago