Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nopets

Forcing Paperwhites-newbie

nopets
11 years ago

This is my first time forcing Paperwhites, I only have the one bulb in a canning jar with rocks, if this one don't work, I have 2 more. A friend at work bought me 2 Amaryllis bulbs and a kit of 3 Paperwhites, when I took the Paperwhites out they were at a 50' angle, the one I put in the rocks and water has straightened out real well and has quite a bit of green on it. That really makes me happy, I can't wait until it blooms and I can smell that beautiful scent.

Comments (10)

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    11 years ago

Looks great, good luck!
    Here's a link for using alcohol to keep the foliage short. You can see how the leaves turn out on the first and maybe try it on the next if the long leaves bother you.

If the amaryllis bulbs came in a kit, I would avoid using the soil that comes with it. Use regular potting soil instead, the stuff they usually include is all peat or something similar that's just to wet for amaryllis to do well in.

Here is a link that might be useful: another post

• nopets
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I decided to put them in the pot they came in with potting soil and a hole in the bottom. I just nestled all 4 of them in there and put it on my bookcase where it is dark and cool. They have plenty of room right now so they can straighten out, as you can see they are pretty bent. The jar was a good idea until I put the water in and there was a leak, not a good thing.

• nopets
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have another sprout on this one bulb, I guess that means everything is ok, this one web page said to gently tug on the paperwhites to see if you meet any resistance and that will tell you that the roots are forming, I did and met resistance, I have roots! Everything is doing well.

• flora_uk
    11 years ago