Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenglider

Large Avocado Trees in Containers

gardenglider
15 years ago

I would like to ask help in redirecting the growth of avocado trees I have been keeping in containers. Given the area I am in - rough winters for these species - I believe I have to maintain them in containers to bring them inside as the cool weather starts. I have been doing this since 2004 when I first started these plants from pits. (From avocados I consumed bought in a normal supermarket).If there is a way around this, please let me know as I have much space outside around the house to plant them.

I started them thinking not all would succeed and have been faced with having to control quick and robust multiple growth. Some of them are in fact almost touching the ceiling so I need some advice on pruning and pruning seasons for their structures in a way that they are happier in their container and inside the house. I am very much at a beginner level and will follow most attentively instructions on this.

Also, I would be most thankful for advice on fertilizer and other care tips to help them overcome some diseases I show in the pics. If there is a way to help them produce fruit in these circumstances, I would love to hear about it!

I have not pruned them consistently - since I did not know how to do so, and believe some errors were made. One question we always had a debate here was whether one should crop parts of leaves when these are bad, rather than just taking the entire leaf away or leaving it to fall on its own.

I can provide more details and pics to help clarify the status of the plants.

Thank you for your time!

Image link:

Comments (2)

• gardenglider
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I am posting more imgs in sequential posts

• Sherlock_Jones
    10 years ago