Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to container gardening...

Posted by GardenMama22 none (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 20, 13 at 3:19

Hi, im new to growing vegetables in containers. My son and i do the gardening mostly and with the last 2 years not very well we want to try something new. We are gonna do tomatoes, cucumbers, squash and a few others. i could use any advice that anyone can give me. I love to garden with my son, but hate it when he sees how hard we're wrking to get the garden goin and it doesnt do well at all. we even tried raised beds. but seems like the ground just dont like us. so now we try containers. thank you in advance.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to container gardening...

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Sun, Jan 20, 13 at 12:09

I think the most prevalent source of frustration for container gardeners comes from the relation between soil choice and watering habits. Understanding how your soil works advantages you by putting you on the uphill side of any battle. ;-)

My suggestion would be to familiarize yourself with the concept explained at the link I'll leave below, to the degree that you'll understand how to implement it. I think an understanding of the information I'll link to probably represents the largest step forward a container gardener can take at any one time.

You'll find lots of good guidance by experienced growers here, so good luck!

Al

Here is a link that might be useful: More here if you click me ....

o

You mention being new to growing vegetables in containers, so I guess you are successful growing them in the garden soil. The veggies you mention are all full sun, summer grown, container or not. You give no clue to where you live and garden, which limits the guessing of what could be wrong. Al

o